Exploring New Zealand: Insights into IVL and Visa Waiver Countries


New Zealand, with its captivating landscapes and vibrant culture, attracts travelers from around the world. Navigating the visa landscape is crucial for a smooth entry, and understanding the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL) and visa waiver countries is key. This article provides insights into the IVL and the countries eligible for visa waivers, offering a comprehensive guide for those planning a visit to Aotearoa. NEW ZEALAND VISA IVL 

International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL):

The International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL) is a contribution travelers make to help preserve the stunning natural environment that New Zealand is known for. Introduced in 2019, the IVL is applicable to most international visitors, including those from visa waiver countries. Here are the key points regarding the IVL:

  • Applicability: The IVL is applicable to most international visitors entering New Zealand for a stay of less than 90 days. This includes visitors from visa waiver countries and those who require a visa.
  • Fee Structure: As of the last available information, the IVL fee is NZD 35 and is usually collected at the same time as the visa application or the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) process.
  • Multiple Entries: The IVL covers multiple entries into New Zealand within the validity period of the visa or ETA.
  • Conservation Efforts: The funds collected through the IVL contribute to various conservation and tourism initiatives aimed at preserving New Zealand’s unique biodiversity and enhancing the overall visitor experience.
  • Exemptions: Some categories of travelers are exempt from paying the IVL, including Australian citizens and permanent residents, as well as citizens of Antarctica New Zealand’s Convention Partner Countries.

Visa Waiver Countries:

NEW ZEALAND VISA WAIVER COUNTRIES New Zealand has a list of visa waiver countries whose citizens can enter the country for a short visit without obtaining a visa. Travelers from these countries, however, are still required to request an ETA. Here are the key points related to visa waiver countries:

  • ETA Requirement: While citizens of visa waiver countries do not need a traditional visa for short visits, they are required to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA). The ETA is a quick and straightforward process completed online.
  • ETA Process: The ETA application involves providing personal details, travel information, and answering health and character questions. It’s essential to pay the required fee and ensure accurate information to facilitate a smooth approval process.
  • Multiple Entries: The ETA allows multiple entries into New Zealand for up to two years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first.
  • IVL Inclusion: Travelers from visa waiver countries are also required to pay the IVL as part of the ETA application process. The IVL contribution goes toward New Zealand’s conservation and tourism initiatives.
  • Efficiency at Entry: With an approved ETA, travelers from visa waiver countries can enter New Zealand efficiently, with streamlined immigration procedures.


Understanding the IVL and the concept of visa waiver countries is crucial for anyone planning a visit to New Zealand. The IVL not only supports conservation efforts but also enhances the overall sustainability of tourism in this beautiful country. For citizens of visa waiver countries, obtaining an ETA is a straightforward process that ensures a smooth entry into Aotearoa. With the right information and proper preparation, travelers can embark on a memorable journey, exploring the wonders of New Zealand while contributing to its environmental preservation.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *